Igor Stravinsky’s Sardana has its finalists

Published : 04/10/2021 14:54:30
Categories : Concerts , News , Prizes and Contests

Igor Stravinsky’s Sardana has its finalists

The jury of the Composition Competition Igor Stravinsky’s Sardana met this morning telematically to choose the finalists and winners of the two categories of the contest called by the publishing house and record company from Girona FICTA Edicions, on the occasion of the editorial’s fifth anniversary and the fiftieth anniversary of the death of the Russian composer.

The 31 works presented in the two categories (23 sardanes for cobla and 8 sardanes for piano) have been studied and discussed by a jury chaired by the conductor and composer Antoni Ros-Marbà (l’Hospitalet de Llobregat, 1937) and composed of Marcel Sabaté i Reixach (Tortellà, 1970), conductor of the Cobla Sant Jordi - Ciutat de Barcelona and professor at ESMUC (Catalan High Music School); Miquel Villalba (Barcelona, 1968), pianist; and Bernat Cabré i Cercós (Barcelona, 1965), musicologist and publisher at FICTA Edicions who has acted as a secretary of the jury with the right to speak but without a vote.

The finalist sardanes for cobla will be premiered on the 17th of May in l’Aliança del Poblenou in a concert starring Cobla Sant Jordi - Ciutat de Barcelona. During this concert, the winners of both categories will be unveiled. In the first part of the concert, the Cobla Sant Jordi will perform the works that Cobla Barcelona offered to Igor Stravinsky in 1924 during his first visit to Barcelona and which gave rise to the enigma of Igor Stravinsky’s Sardana.

The finalists in the category of Sardana for cobla are:

  • Roland Besson (1962) Amb l’ocell al voltant del sol

  • Xavier Cassanyes i Edo (1957) I malgrat tot... la primavera!

  • Andreu Diport i Feliu (1998) Sardana

  • Jordi Feliu i Horta (1971) Podrobneye Garreta

  • Joan Vila Safont (1979) Més Stravinsky

The finalists in the category of Sardana for piano are:

  • Gerard López Boada (1969) Fanfara sardanística

  • Àngel Pérez Ortega (1993) La llegenda de Sant Jordi 

In addition to the finalists and winners of the two categories, the jury has decided to make a special mention in the sardana for cobla Stravinskiana by the composer Joan Lluís Moraleda i Perxachs (1943), a work that has created amazement for its ability to build a sardana using only Igor Stravinsky’s musical themes. This work will be premiered, like the finalists, at the concert on the 17th of May.

All finalist works will be published by the publisher FICTA Edicions and the two winning sardanes will receive a cash prize of 1.500€ (sardana for cobla) and 1.000€ (sardana for piano).

Related Posts

Product successfully added to the product comparison!